She’s Alive!!

Feeling Alive!!

Alive!!  I feel alive and full of new energy these days!  I’ve made a decision to commit to myself… to lead a healthy, happy, joy-filled life.  This has been a long time coming, and today is the day that I am making the plunge, taking the big step, committing to not only myself but to you, my new reader (hopefully!). I’m getting creative again.  There will always be art in my life, but this time I’m not talking about art all the time.  I’m talking about being creative with life.  This blog is just the beginning of so much more to come…

Yesterday I signed up for a course that is going to change my life in ways I can’t even imagine yet. Beginning in September I am going to spend the next year learning to be a health coach. Yeah, I’m going to learn not only how to live a better life for myself, but to help others do the same.  The course begins with learning over a hundred different kinds of nutritional concepts and plans, diving deep into recipes and exploring my own body’s reactions to different foods, supplements and regimes.  I will pay close attention to my own body’s response to altering my diet and lifestyle, alongside a group of classmates all doing the same thing.  The idea is that no single diet or nutrition plan is perfect for everyone.  So next I will hone in my coaching skills.  I will practice asking deep questions that lead to enlightening answers found when we listen to our bodies and emotions.  Our bodies have spent their entire lives getting to the unhealthy state they are in now (go ahead, admit it…not feeling 100% all the time, right?).  We all have emotional attachment to our lifestyles, sometimes it takes a little coaching to broaden our horizons and find options that make us feel better.  There are so many options out there, it can be confusing and discouraging to try on our own.  I know I can be a great coach and I’m excited to learn new skills and techniques for this.  The third element of the program involves developing a business model that helps me reach out to those in need of help and support.  Social media, networking, marketing, client development, scheduling, finding a niche in a developing industry…. all tools that lead to me developing a career fitted perfectly to my healthy, happy and joy-filled life.  The beauty of this part is that I get to be creative.  I get to apply the concept of creativity to life and health.  I get to discover and develop creative ways to make healthy choices part of every day life.  It’s more than just what we eat, too…. it’s how we deal with stresses in life: our careers, our family, our relationships, our finances, exercise…. how we “feed our soul” directly reflects the type of life we live.

So here it is, the beginning of the most exciting thing I’ve done for myself in a long, long time.  By starting this blog I’ve provided you, my reader, a view into my soul as I enjoy this journey.  I invite you to join me, to participate, and I ask for your respect and support.  I am committing to not only myself, but to you as well.  It has been just over a year since I was sitting by myself in a hospital in Virgina, afraid of losing my colon (more on my history in another entry at a later time).  It has been almost 8 months that I have been treating myself holistically with the assistance of my own health coach (also to be discussed in a future entry).  Today I invite the world to peer into the next leg of the journey as I begin a new career path that will continue leading me to healthful, joyful happiness in life.  Thanks for joining me, I look forward to sharing with you!

With peace,

Rather

This entry was published on August 17, 2014 at 4:37 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “She’s Alive!!

  1. Shannon Townley on said:

    So proud of you Rather! This program sounds amazing! When my mom saw you and Cassie a few weeks ago she called and said ” i didn’t even recognize that was Rather for a little while. She looks absolutely amazing”. You are an insperation to everyone that cones in contact with you! Can’t wait to hear about your continued journey my friend!

    Like

  2. Leigh Coley on said:

    Your amazing.

    Like

  3. Really really excited for your journey. Supporting you 100%, friend.

    Like

  4. Dorothy Frederichs on said:

    You are so wonderful, so strong, and you will be so great at this kind of coaching. Love you

    Like

Leave a Reply

