greens!

So all of this blogging stuff is a bit new to me…. I jumped in and made a post and committed, but where to start?  I feel like I have so much to say, and I’ve been talking more with my peers since last week, but to be concise and not ramble on about any such topic?  I’ll do my best to stay focused.  Thanks for sticking with me and being part of this adventure.

Since this blog is all about being creative with making healthy lifestyle choices, and since I am leaving this weekend with celebrations involved I thought I’d start with a simple “recipe” if you will.  Greens.  The magical vegetables that help us feel our best.  I crave them when I don’t get them regularly and a weekend like this has a pretty high probability of being one of those times.  This is a wedding reception/family reunion type of weekend.  We don’t have to travel very far, fortunately, in 4 or 5 hours tomorrow morning we will be with everyone on the Front Range for celebration!  This means a couple of things in regards to maintaining healthy lifestyle choices and staying comfortable.  First, this means that there will be partying.  Lots of social eating and plenty more drinking, late nights and poor sleep.  Secondly, this means I will be away from my own home for a couple of days – limited space and time for relaxation, routine and preparedness.  So what to do about it?  Take the time now to prepare in the ways I can, and let go of the control of the rest.  Be grateful for the opportunity to visit with so many people I love and enjoy the weekend.

So, to start with, this afternoon I decided to cook myself some greens…. a lot of greens.  One of my new health coaching friends likes to say “cook once, eat twice”.  I’ll probably find out where she got that from in the next few months, but for me, right now, makes perfect sense and I love it.  Leftovers are an amazing tool for eating healthy and for keeping a busy schedule and eating on the go.  I work nights a lot and can’t eat a lot of the food that I serve at work, bringing leftovers has become part of the routine over the last few months and I love it.  Here’s what I ate today for lunch and will bring with me for the weekend to get my fix of green nutrients while away from my routine….

 

photo 1(1)

 

Cleaned out the fridge and decided to cook everything that won’t make it past the weekend.  We have onion, both red and yellow, red pepper, purple bell pepper, garlic, brussels sprouts, zuchinni, kale and spinach…. yummmm!

Nate and I cook mostly with ghee.  We make our own by clarifying organic butter on the stove.  This process is super easy and will probably show up in a post one of these days when I cover the basics of how we have morphed our kitchen.  Ghee is delicious, we use it liberally!

 

photo 5 (2)photo 4 (2)photo 2(1)

 

Basically when we cook greens we do a simple saute.  Garlic, onions first, then the crunchier veggies like brussels, asparagus, carrots.  I like to eat either brussels or asparagus every single day for at least one serving.  This is all about healing my damaged gut with lots of pre-biotics, but again…. for another post.  Next add the leafier veggies.  We have kale and chard growing in our garden but this is a farmer’s market purchase because I felt like I was cutting too much out of the garden and want to let it catch up this weekend.  It needed to be cooked!  I also added some spinach that will probably stay the weekend but I love to add spinach to everything randomly, it’s been my favorite since I was a kid (very true!).  I had a yoga teacher in college that preached a handful of organic spinach every day.  I also use it for a bread or pasta substitute at restaurants.  And there’s always popeye… greens I tell you, powerful stuff!  I add them last because they don’t need much time to wilt.  A light saute is really all we’re going for… the longer you cook the greens the more you lose of their life, so the crunchier the better if you can handle it.

photo 3 (2)photo 1 (2)

 

Our favorite is an egg (or 2) fried in more ghee.  This is an awesome breakfast that satisfies for a while if you have the time to prepare.  I always try to make at least one serving extra for a quick re-heat when I don’t have much time.  Today’s batch from cleaning out the fridge made at least 4 more servings after I ate it for lunch.  Greens for the weekend!  I’m totally a dork when it comes to carrying my food with me all the time.  I don’t take it into restaurants or anything, but I always have a snack and kraut at very least.  This weekend I’m going all out because we are staying in cabins that will have a fridge.  Just to keep things short(ish) and because I still need to pack, I’ll wrap it up with a quick check-list of must-haves for my healthy weekend away from home…

1. Greens – cooked today for the whole weekend!

2. Sour kraut – Organic, UN-Pasturized – I love Bubbies and I use small ball jars for easy transport.  We’re talking some major pro-biotics here!

3. Coconut water kefir – also lots of pro-biotics!

4. Coconut water – big time hydration

5. My waterbottle (aiming for 5 fill-ups every day!!)

I’ll probably have lots of snacks for the drive and some gluten free crackers in case we need options at the party.  I like to get creative about “mocktails” at social engagements, so probably some fun ideas in the cooler.  After not drinking for a while it’s easy to get carried away when I choose to play.  Going back and forth with alcohol and non-alcohol drinks helps a lot.  Eventually, after a couple drinks I prefer the virgin options anyway… which has taken a while to get used to, but I’m proud of now.  I aim to really listen to my body and how I feel.  Try to go to bed when I’m tired and get good sleep.  I know that I am really prepared to feel great this weekend.  There will be so much love and family…. little kiddos and great friends that I haven’t seen in ages.  I’m so excited!!  The energy that I bring will take me a long way when it comes to dealing with the stresses of being away from home and my routine.  Positive energy breeds positive times!

Cheers to a great weekend!

 

This entry was published on August 22, 2014 at 5:58 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “greens!

  1. Have healthy, happy weekend with your family.
    Love you!
    Kerri

    Like

  2. Cracking post! Really love your writing style & this dish looks fantastic. I just made a similar dish based on using up all those leftovers! If you have a min, I’d love your thoughts 🙂 http://goodfoodmarsh.wordpress.com/2014/08/30/leftovers-hullabaloo/

    Like

  3. Pingback: Fresh, Local Greens in Crested Butte, CO! | RatherBeCreative

Leave a Reply

