On the Road….

Eastern Colorado plains, headed to Illinois for #phasesofthemoon

Eastern Colorado plains, headed to Illinois for #phasesofthemoon

Oh my goodness the world keeps spinning and life keeps happening!  Just when you think things will slow down a little bit it always gets crazy. September is one of my favorite months. It always seems to be full of fun events and beautiful adventures….. Crested Butte has not only amazing landscapes full of aspen fields and foliage turning golden colors right about now but has so many reasons to celebrate in the fall. Typically I’m packing up this week to drive to Telluride, CO for Blues & Brews (last year it was my best friend’s bachelorette party). This fall, Nate and I are switching it up a little and hitting the road east to Illinois for Phases of the Moon.  So excited!! A massive helping of our favorite bands, yoga, arts fair, and “glamping” in a sweet RV with his family for 5 whole nights! This is festivaling in style, and after doing it the way I did last year……let’s just say I’m really looking forward to it. 😊

It always seems like we’re out having a ton of fun, and I like it that way. We are so lucky in that respect. What’s really nice these days is that we’ve set a priority to take care of ourselves while we do it. We literally spent days in the kitchen preparing for this weekend away. So much more of a creative challenge than just a weekend away from home. We went to Wannee (a similar festival in Florida) last spring in the same rig and we both managed to avoid festival food entirely! I have the same goals this time and by the looks (and tastes) of the salads we made I think we can do it again.

image

On the menu:

Curried Chicken Salad

“Traditional” Chicken Salad

Kale Salad (from the garden!) with Homemade Strawberry Vinegarette

Wild Rice & Zucchini Salad

Homemade Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Our new “Heady World Famous” onion dip

You can tell we like salads. We brought along a loaf of gluten free bread and a bunch of spinach to eat them with. “Junk food” is usually a given when vacationing, and especially road tripping. I figured making healthier options gives us better chances avoiding the real crap and feeling better in the end.  I always include my supplements, kraut (probiotics!!) and coconut water. I feel pretty bright for remembering a couple of plastic plates and silverware… even cloth napkins, is this dorky? I love being green when I travel. I find it entertaining how some people aren’t used to seeing anyone bring their own cup into convenience stores. Since we don’t want to eat out this trip (at least as minimally as possible) I figured why not bring all the tools we need! Good news is when we get to the festival it all goes into a fridge and becomes so easy to enjoy quickly.

image

Recipes will perhaps follow….but for now we’re making our first rest area stop for lunch, getting close to Kansas. I’ll let you know how the festival goes soon. Just figured out how to post from my phone so hopefully you hear a lot more from me from now on.

Hope your September is full of beautiful adventures as well! Have a peaceful day and keep loving life!

With love,

Rather

This entry was published on September 9, 2014 at 9:40 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “On the Road….

  1. This isn’t dorky one bit! This is similar to the way I prep for a festival, of even a weekend away camping! It feels good to be prepared and already have the annoying “prep” work out of the way to make it easy and relaxing. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. David Harrington on said:

    Sounds pretty amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

