Quick, Healthy 8 Ingredient Pesto Recipe

Alight, this recipe took me about 20 minutes all together.  This doesn’t count picking the basil or kale, or the trips to the Farmer’s Market this morning…. but from ingredients to freezer, this really only took me 20 minutes.  My goal now is to write this blog in 20 minutes before work.  Timer, set.

Ingredients:  You can just put these into your blender in this order…

1 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil, or a mix of Extra Virgin and light is what I did today…. My blender also has measurements on the side, so no need to dirty a measuring cup.

1 cup Parmesan cheese.  I used an almost full wedge, chunked up into smallish pieces.  Depending on your blender, you could probably just do this with your hands.

4 cloves of garlic.  I open my cloves of garlic with the butt-end of my knife.  I feel like the longer you can let a broken clove of garlic “breathe” by being cut/broken the better it tastes.  The garlic man at the Farmer’s Market is one of my favorite stops.  I couldn’t tell you what type I used, but I’m never disappointed in his flavors.

2 cups Basil.  I cut one ziplock bag-full from a plant a friend gave me for this very purpose.  I also got a bag at the market this morning from another one of my favorite stops, Twisted Root.  It’s their first year at the Farmer’s Market and it’s been fun to see their offerings grow throughout the summer.

2 big stalks of Kale – ribbed.  Maybe I should make a little video to show you how I rib kale…?  Get rid of the stalk is what I’m trying to say.  You can also use more if you want, I didn’t want it to out-do the basil.  Plus I had exactly 2 stalks that needed to be used immediately.

Hearty Handful of Walnuts – I was aiming for something between 1/3 and 1/2 cup.  If you’d rather use Pine Nuts, go for a smaller amount – more like 1/4 cup or even less.

Hearty pinch of salt – Himalayan or Celtic Sea Salt is best…. always.

10-12 grinds on the pepper mill.  Both the salt and pepper can obviously be adjusted to taste, of course.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Parmesan, garlic, basil, kale, walnuts.  Boom.  Pesto

Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Parmesan, garlic, basil, kale, walnuts. Boom. Pesto

Put the lid on her and get to blending.  I’m lucky and have a really nice blender, so this part doesn’t take very long.  If you have the opportunity to adjust the speeds of your blender as you go, start very low and move up only to a med/low speed.  For mine, it’s to from 1 to 3.  Let it go for a couple minutes as it grinds to the consistency you like.  Taste to adjust salt and pepper if you want.  I didn’t want to get mine too salty because this will probably be added to onions and garlic in a saute pan eventually… which we both tend to salt and pepper no matter what.

This took about 15 seconds....

This took about 15 seconds….

Next it’s time to store the pesto.  My friend that gifted me the basil plant taught me this awesome, easy idea of pouring the pesto into ice cube trays to freeze them in portioned cubes.  This makes so much more sense than the jar we froze pesto in last time we did this.  I just need to remember to take the pesto out when I get home and get them into better freezer bags so they don’t get burned while we wait for winter to settle in and Farmer’s Markets are an event of the past.

Ice cube trays, of course!

Ice cube trays, of course!

I’m reading an amazing book right now, Barbara Kingsolver’s “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle”….. loaned to me, now that I think about it, by the very same friend I’ve already spoken about!  This book if life-changing, I am discovering.  It’s about her personal mission to spend a year, with her family, living off of their own gardens and food from their immediate county.  With the cooler nights creeping in on us and the kids going back to school, there’s all this talk of summer being over.  I don’t know that I’m really ready for it yet…. and fortunately, I think we have some really nice, summery weather ahead of us… (damnitt, the timer went off….).  We joined a CSA this summer, have I mentioned that?  We have so much food, we hardly know what to do with all of it!  Between our busting at the seams fridge and the awakening words of Mrs. Kingsolver, I’ve found myself on a mission to put absolutely everything to use and to continue to reap the nutrients of our weekly boxes for long after we get to collect them.  Any ideas, suggestions and experience you might like to share with me to help me along on this quest is greatly appreciated.  I love hearing from you in the comments.  I also look forward to sharing what I learn as I stuff my freezer for the winter… ugh…. winter….. not yet!!

As always, to your Health and your Happiness,

Rather

This entry was published on August 17, 2015 at 5:29 am. It’s filed under barbara kingsolver, easy, farmers market, great books, life changing, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

